Non-24-hour Sleep-Wake Disorder

In short, it sucks. In long, it suuuuuuuuuuuuuuucks! I truly wish some sort of advancement in treatment for this condition could be made. I despise missing entire chunks of my life due to sleeping during periods where most people are awake. I disturb the lives of those I live with, I inconvenience friends and acquaintances, and it’s impossible to adhere to any sort of schedule.

Not to mention that it results not only in my staying awake for days at a time, but sleeping for days at a time as well. And each time that occurs, I wake up feeling terrible. I’m left dehydrated, with sore muscles, I’m disoriented, and I’ve often missed medications, which only adds to the general feeling of ‘bleugh.’

I’ve tried to force myself to adhere to a normal sleeping schedule multiple times in my life. The result is being perpetually exhausted. Regardless of how much sleep I have or have not gotten, I will feel wide awake when it’s clearly time for bed. Then, I won’t get enough sleep to compensate for that and it’ll just keep piling on and on until I pass out for an entire day.

Leave a Reply

