Thanksgiving

I unexpectedly had two days of Thanksgiving, one on the actual holiday and one yesterday. My brother has a terrible habit of not informing people of events until the last moment so I wasn’t completely surprised to get a call saying, “Hey, come over for dinner!”

On the day of Thanksgiving, it was only my spouse, my mother, and myself. I prepared apricot-glazed turkey, cornbread stuffing, mashed potatoes, turkey gravy, dinner rolls, strawberry pretzel salad (which I am currently eating for breakfast), and an apple cobbler. Despite making smaller dishes than usual, we’re still going to have leftovers for a week! I love that, though. Leftovers are the best.

Yesterday, Mom and I visited my brother and his extended family. There was turkey, honey-glazed ham, mashed potatoes, turkey gravy, green bean casserole, sweet potato casserole, cole slaw, Chinese rice, corn cake, dinner rolls, chocolate pudding pie, pumpkin pie, strawberry creme pie, chocolate ice cream, and vanilla ice cream. All of that to feed 18 people. There was so much food leftover! Except for the chocolate pie. That was obliterated!

The highlight of the night was certainly when we were playing Cards Against Humanity, though. ‘Cart,’ the foreign exchange student from China that Kendra and Fred have taken in, was playing with us and he understands just enough English to get by. He had to have many, many things explained, understandably so because English is such a ridiculously complicated language. When it was his turn to read the cards, however, one of them said, “Asians who aren’t good at math.” Without hesitation, ‘Cart’ said, “All Asians are good at math.” He got the hugest laugh of the night. I think he made great friends with Mandy and Aaron, too.

All in all, a lovely, if not tiring, holiday.

Leave a Reply

